Mulan

I must admit, Mulan wasn’t even in my consciousness as a Disney princess but as I watched it again recently (together with my 22-year-old wisdom), I get to see it in a different perspective. I still can’t classify Mulan as a part of that sorority of princesses, nor will I ever consider her being a part of it in the future for this one reason: she’s different. She is the embodiment of an independent woman: enlightened, strong willed, and intelligent. With or without Commander Shang, Mulan will continue to grow. She is incredibly brave by taking a risk not only in participating in a war but also break the norm of a patriarchal society.

As a conclusion, I wish Disney would concentrate on heroines like her to be presented to little girls. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

